Danishova

Idgit Watch

Blogger announces contest to decipher Obama’s Recovery.Gov numbers

Posted by danishova on February 20, 2009

When it comes to the “Stimulus Package”, President Obama has assured us, “This is your money. You have a right to know where it’s going and how it’s being spent. Learn what steps we’re taking to ensure you can track our progress every step of the way.”

The website states:

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act targets investments towards key areas that will save or create good jobs immediately, while also laying the groundwork for long-term economic growth. The charts and numbers below give you an idea of where the money is going…

My very favorite part is the handy image using cute rainbow-colored balloons which they’ve cleverly called the “investment bubble.jpg” .  That image title alone has enhanced my confidence in the economy!  After a housing bubble, the Obama Administration is now giving us an “investment bubble”!  I can’t wait. Indeed, I think I’ll crack open some bubbly tonight to celebrate.

However, before get in a bubbly mood, I need your help!  As a footnote to the “Investment bubble” we are told:

* Tax Relief – includes $15 B for Infrastructure and Science, $61 B for Protecting the Vulnerable, $25 B for Education and Training and $22 B for Energy, so total funds are $126 B for Infrastructure and Science, $142 B for Protecting the Vulnerable, $78 B for Education and Training, and $65 B for Energy.
State and Local Fiscal Relief – Prevents state and local cuts to health and education programs and state and local tax increases.

Sadly, I’m not an economist like Professor Obama, and thus I am having difficulty adding this up in any way that makes sense to little old me. I really like to be informed of everything this administration is doing, so I thought that maybe some of my readers could make sense of this fun puzzle.

I’m too broke being patriotic and paying taxes to give away cash prizes, but I am only too happy to announce the names of winners and runners-up.  To enter, just leave a comment with your explanation. Thanks in advance!

P.S.  When you’re done doing the math, be sure to “share your recovery story” with the Obama Administration.

Leave a Reply

 
